What are The Levels of ITL certification?

In this advancing world where numerous businesses/start-ups are emerging now and then, promoting and establishing the business is a grueling task which requires great expertise and various techniques to be implemented. IT plays a major role in establishing, developing and boosting the business and company’s name along with attracting, approaching and communicating with clients. Building up a website, It may seem an easy task but the numerous IT services need to be done through a procedure and require great expertise to manage the various errands. Efficient IT services that will benefit the company must be done through an ITIL framework. ITIL is an abbreviation for Information Technology Infrastructure Library and is a scheme or architecture developed by Central Computer and Telecommunication Agency and is now distributed by Axelos that is implemented by a company or business to manage, develop, plan, distribute, and reinforce variety of IT services.

Companies adopt ITIL to get numerous benefits because it aids in producing effective services for the clients by following distinct strategies and definite SOPs (standard operating procedure). Among the many benefits obtained from ITIL implementation for IT services some of the benefits are:

  • Increased number of satisfied customers,
  • Improvement in quality of services provided to the customers,
  • Better and augmented yield by the company and businesses,
  • Increased possibility of establishing, providing and implementing IT services at a
  • reduced cost,
  • Increased and better risk management and
  • Ability to change ideas and approaches according to the need.

ITIL has become a necessity to effectively cater the various ITSM (IT service management) practices. ITIL is a company’s strength because of its flexible nature which allows to alter and scale the different tactics according to the needs. Moreover, it can be effectively used in combination with other business strategies and schemes.

What is ITIL certification?

ITIL certification is a well-known certification throughout the business world that helps to master the techniques and practices required for efficient IT service management. ITIL certification is of immense importance who wants to establish and excel their career in ITSM field. It increases the worth of the personnel by instilling in him the mind and ability that is needed by the companies and businesses to change, advance and prosper. The growth of a company is essentially dependent on how the IT services are being handled and its productive implementation is only possible by person who has ITIL certification. ITIL has become all the more important because in this modernized world each and every one and every industry is IT dependent and without proper training, it is not possible for anyone to constructively carry out IT services.

ITIL foundation certification is a generic training for implementing effective IT services, providing the basic knowledge and concepts regarding ITIL and therefore opens the door to numerous opportunities. ITIL foundation certification makes a person capable of working at different levels in an industry and produce recommended and desired results. To become an ITIL master it is necessary that all ITIL certification levels be completed so that all the practices and techniques can be thoroughly understood and later on effectually implemented.

There are all together 5 different levels of ITIL namely:

  • Foundation
  • Practitioner
  • Intermediate
  • Expert
  • Master

Each of the levels help the individual to acquire certain credit points and in order to achieve ITIL Expert certification a total of 22 credit points are required; the Master level has other requirements.

All of these levels must be acquired in order to be called as a pro ITIL master who has a good grip on all the five areas of ITIL service lifecycle. The basics of these areas are learned in the first stage whereas each progressing stage provides further details and knowledge regarding the lifecycle phases.

Service strategy, service transition, service design, continuous service improvement and service operation are the 5 phases of the lifecycle and they cover different aspects of the ITIL architecture.

The ITIL Foundation certification provides the trainee with the basic notions linked with ITIL and establishes a strong ground for the trainee to obtain further certifications and learn the concepts, ideas, approaches and techniques in great depth and detail. It does not require any pre-knowledge and can easily be attempted by a novice having some interest in this regard. A 1-hour exam having 40 MCQs
must be attempted to acquire ITIL foundation certification

For gaining practical knowledge related to ITIL, ITIL practitioner certification must be acquired and this requires the individual to pass another exam having 40 MCQs with at least 70 percent marks. In this stage implementation of the ITIL practices to strengthen a business is learnt along with a strong focus on how to communicate and carry out required change.

ITIL Intermediate certification is based on module clearing and these modules are categorized in two: service capability modules and service lifecycle modules. Modules can be selected from any of the two categories. To acquire this certification, it is necessary to complete a training program from an ATO unlike the first two levels which can be prepared from home.

ITIL Expert certification is an advanced level of ITIL certification and covers all the details regarding the different practices and approaches used ITIL scheme. This certification is a bit difficult to obtain and requires the passing of the Managing Across the Lifecycle exam (MALC). After completing this certification, the total credit points achieved are 22.

To become a pro, ITIL Master certification must be acquired. This certification incorporates each detail involved in the ITIL practices and teaches their productive implementation in actual scenarios. This level of certification requires a large amount to be paid i.e. around $4000 and the requirements for completing this course are also quite strict so only a few candidates apply and complete this certification level.

There are numerous organization and training institutes that provide ITIL trainings and ITIL certification; these institutes are known as ITIL Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs). These organizations and institutes conduct exams and then issue ITIL foundation certification as well as ITIL certification for different levels. ITIL certifications is highly recommended for IT professionals who are looking forward to pursuing their career in this field.